Slow cooked turkey leg

I made this for our dinner tonight, with boiled rice and  steamed cauliflower.
When it was cooked I left most of the stock in the pot (some was spooned over the rice and meat) and I added the rice water and some more vegetables and beans, and put the bones back in when I had pulled off the meat. Then put it back in the slow oven to make soup for tomorrow.
The leftover meat will be made into burritos or quesadillas tomorrow, and if I have more meat left that will go back into the soup as well.
3 good and filling meals from 1 turkey leg which cost about £1.50 and vegetables that would have gone to waste as they were getting past their best.

Turkey legs are cheap , I think it’s probably because people wonder what to do with turkey legs?

What I do is slow cook them. What you get is the most moist meat that falls off the bone and takes you only minutes to prepare.

Ingredients

  • 1 Turkey Leg (or more, depending on the size of your pot)
  • Oil or butter , optional
  • 3 tbs fresh or dried herbs. whatever you have in your pantry
  • 2 tsp salt or mixture of Paprika, Garlic Salt, Onion Powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup water
  • garlic, 2-3 cloves
  • Chopped onion, carrots, celery (optional, don’t worry if you haven’t got them on hand)

Instructions

There’s really no right or wrong way with this.  If you have other roots or seasonings, use them instead. Chop them up roughly, I throw the garlic cloves in whole and unpeeled. Throw everything into the pot, cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours, I do mine in a stock pot in the oven, which has a slow cook setting , (something less than Gas Mark 1.)

Put it on to cook before you leave for work or go out for the day, and when you get back it will be waiting for you to serve up.

 

Leave a comment