NO EGG BREAKFAST

I used to eat lots of eggs – almost every day. Scrambled or poached on toast for breakfast, lunch or supper, omelette with salad or chips for lunch or dinner, fried with bacon for breakfast, on sandwiches, boiled with a salad for lunch or dinner, mixed in with fried rice for dinner or supper – you name it I ate it.
Then for some reason I cannot remember, I stopped having them for quite some time – 6 months or a year, not sure how long as it wasn’t a conscious decision to stop.
One day I purchased an egg sandwich for lunch whilst out and I felt so ill afterwards.  I thought it was just a bad sandwich and realising that eggs had left my diet and wondering why, I got a box.
I was ill every time I had an egg – so thinking maybe it was a bad box, I bought another – same thing, and it slowly dawned on me that I had developed an allergy or intolerance to eggs. I cannot tell you how gutted I was, remembering how I used to have them all the time in one form or another, and how it was such a great food, the perfect fast food in fact. The healthy, perfect combination of fat, carbs and protein all in a handy 1 serving package.
I was in denial to begin with, how I could be intolerant to something that I had so much of all my life. I tried different ways and quantities of eating them, nothing worked.  I do use them in cakes – I can get away with just having a slice of cake one time a day without unpleasant side effects.  I use them as a coating on things like breaded chicken nuggets – again, so long as I don’t have too many, I don’t suffer too much. But I cannot eat a whole egg like I once did.
Breakfast is the meal that I struggle with most; nearly any breakfast involves the use of eggs.
I did some research, and found there are myriad of healthy, egg free breakfast choices available that offer all the vitamins, minerals and energy you need to start your day.
If you are vegan, on low cholesterol diet or like me just avoiding eggs, there are many breakfasts you can have that will keep you full for hours.

Eating a healthy, balanced breakfast every day helps improve your concentration and focus and boosts your health overall.  Adults who eat breakfast every day are more likely to consume more vitamins and minerals and less fat and cholesterol than those who don’t eat breakfast.

Prepare a breakfast that includes at least one serving of lean or low fat protein along with items from the other food groups.  One advantage of eating eggs is they provide a large amount of protein.  The body needs protein in combination with fat and carbohydrates to satiate hunger and maintain healthy bones and tissues. So when you go egg free you need to choose alternatives that also offer healthy amounts of protein.  Consider including, milk, cheese, soy milk, peanut butter and lean meats.
If you are making pancakes, waffles, muffins or other breakfasts that traditionally call for eggs you can substitute ¾ cup boiling water and ¼ cup ground flaxseed for every 2 eggs in a recipe.
Choose muesli, whole grain cereals, low fat dairy and fresh fruits and veg as healthy breakfast foods.  Egg alternatives include nut butters, lean meats or fish.
Try fresh apple slices with peanut butter, or yogurt with berries and granola.

Leave a Reply

