Lemon drizzle muffins

I love lemons and I love muffins, so these are a favourite of mine.  I used 2 lemons today, but it depends on how big they are and how juicy they are, so its hard to say how many you would need – 1 large, 2 medium or thereabouts.

It was only when I was gathering the ingredients that I realised I was out of butter, so I made some with the double cream that was lingering in the fridge; it came out quite well, doesn’t taste like shop bought butter, more of a creamy taste, and I didn’t add salt to it, but it was good enough to go into the muffins.
I didn’t melt it though, as it was already softish from the making I just beat it in as it was.
I will put up a post on how I made it next.

Ingredients

  • 220g/8oz plain flour
  • 125g/4oz caster sugar
  • 1 tbs grated lemon zest
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp bicarb of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • _________________________________________
  • 1 egg
  • 250g/9oz natural yoghurt
  • 85g butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 tbs lemon juice

Lemon drizzle:

  • 80ml lemon juice
  • 4 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp grated lemon zest

method

  1. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with cases.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the first six ingredients.
  3. In another bowl, beat the egg, yoghurt, butter and lemon juice.
  4. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Take care not to over-mix.
  5. Fill muffin cases 2/3 full.
  6. Bake at 200C/Gas 6 for 20-24 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes; leave muffins in tin.
  8. Using a skewer, poke 6-8 holes in each muffin.
  9. In a saucepan, combine the lemon drizzle ingredients.
  10. Cook and stir over low heat until sugar is dissolved.
  11. Spoon over warm muffins.
Leave a Reply

